About Oak House
The Oak House Sports & Social Club can trace its origins back to the mid 1880’s, when the club opened inside the current Leamington Town Hall. It was decided by the then council (Liberals) to have a social club on the premises which was called after the controlling council; hence The Liberal Club was formed. Even though it was named The Liberal Club it has never had any political associations.
The Liberal Club moved to its current location “Oak House” in Upper Holly Walk between 1937 and 1945. This magnificent Grade II listed building was built by the locally renowned Architect William Thomas c.1838, who as well as designing Oak House was responsible for building Lansdowne Circus and Lansdowne Crescent. Thomas emigrated to Canada shortly afterwards and was responsible for many significant architectural projects within major cities of the country.
In 2015 it was decided to change the clubs name from The Liberal Club to the Oak House Sports & Social Club in order to attract new members, without the restraints of The Liberal Club name. Whilst the club will never forget its proud history, it was felt the name change represents current climates better, as a Sports & Social Club for the local community.
Current day Oak House Sports & Social Club boasts approximately 300 members and is still an important part of the Leamington Spa community it has proudly served for more than 120 years.